People in Nevada might be surprised to learn that leading cause of death for many Americans is not heart disease or cancer. In fact, it is not a disease at all. Unintentional injuries cause more deaths for people aged 1 year to 44 years than anything else. According to the Centers for Disease Control, car accidents account for a large portion of those accidental deaths.
The CDC says that every year, 32,000 people are killed in accidents on the roads in the United States. An additional 2 million people are injured in auto accidents. Obeying speed limits, never driving drunk and staying off cellphones while driving are important safety rules for drivers, but wearing seat belts is equally important, CDC says. The organization recommends that all drivers and passengers buckle up every time they travel on the roads, even on short trips.
Children should never sit in the front seat, and infants up to the age of 2 should sit in a rear-facing car seat in the back seat, according to CDC. They can remain in a rear-facing seat until the age of 4, but when the switch is made to a front-facing car seat, car seat use should continue until the child is 5 years old. A booster seat can be used for bigger children until the age of 13. At 13, they can ride in the front seat.
When someone is injured in a car accident in Nevada and files a claim against another driver, state law takes into account the responsibility of both parties under modified comparative negligence law. If the claimant is found to be partially responsible but not more responsible than the defendant, the claimant may receive compensation, but the full amount sought will be reduced.
Source: FindLaw, ‘Nevada Car Accident Compensation Laws,” 2018